top of page

Does it Really Take Two?


I thought that I proved this statement false in 2012 when my marriage finally starting taking a turn for the better. I had been the one to set an example of Christ-like love and perseverance to Matt, while he continued to overcome his addiction with “the other woman.” I incorrectly claimed to others, “Even if your spouse keeps making ungodly choices, your marriage can be saved. It doesn’t always take two.” After talking with a wise Christian couple recently, I was corrected on this concept when the husband said, “Well, yes it does take two: you and God!” Duhhh Jen- slap in the face😊 I feel like I need to correct my previous friends to be sure they didn’t misunderstand me. I certainly did not mean to ever take Christ out of the equation. It ALWAYS takes two!!!! Not you and your spouse. It takes you and the power of the Holy Spirit within you. If you are a believer in Jesus Christ, that power is already in you from the time you accepted Him as Lord of your life AND truly repented. Note the compound nature of this last sentence. Accepting Jesus as Lord of your life, according to the Bible, requires FULL repentance. It is not just simply saying, “Jesus I know I’m a sinner, please forgive me and come in to my heart.” When Jesus becomes Lord of one’s life, change inevitably will occur. As a result, “Fruits of the Spirit” are produced: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. So, my short blog is just simply to remind you that Yes it takes two, but that’s not you and your spouse, it’s you and total reliance on the Holy Spirit’s power within you!!!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page